GLOBE Awards for Environmental Excellence Announced


Vancouver, Canada, March 28, 2014 – Following two exciting days of environmental and corporate innovation and networking, the GLOBE Foundation has announced the winners of the 12th annual GLOBE Awards for Environmental Excellence at the Closing Luncheon for GLOBE 2014.

Considered the most high profile annual awards of their kind, the GLOBE Awards celebrate Canadian companies that excel in sustainable business practices and progressive development in technology and services. All of the award nominees demonstrated an unwavering commitment to sustainability and a strong commitment to excellence in their diligent pursuit of sustainability. 

This year saw winners in six award categories: Corporate Environmental Excellence, Excellence in Urban Sustainability, Excellence in Emerging Technology, Technology Innovation & Application, Award for Sustainable Leadership, and the Next Gen Entrepreneur. 

The Award for Corporate Environmental Excellence was presented to the leading mining and mineral development company, Teck Resources, who has made sustainable practices a top priority. Teck continues to implement a comprehensive sustainability strategy in their approach to business that improves the quality of life for people around the world.

Over the short and long term, Teck aims to build lasting community support by respecting human rights where they are operationally active, and to be known as an innovative and values-based leader in sustainable community development. Finalists in this category included Bell Canada and Kruger Products. 

Perkins+Will took home the Award for Excellence in Urban Sustainability. The global architecture and design firm is an industry leader in the application of resilient and renewable building technologies. They continue to prioritize the integration of community needs and citizen stakeholder inputs, and an overarching commitment to smart, inclusive urban designs.

The company holds more Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)® Accredited Professionals than any other design firm in North America. Wesgroup Properties for the River District Development and the Town of Banff, and N-Viro Systems for the N-Rich Organic Waste Recycling process were also finalists in this category. 

Vancouver-based bioplastics company, Solegear, took home the coveted Award for Excellence in Emerging Technology for its ingenuity in manufacturing compostable, non-toxic bioplastic materials under the brand name Polysole. Not only does this bio-based formulation meet and adapt to the specific performance requirements of their clients, it contributes to an overarching and thematic corporate sustainability initiative to reduce or eliminate negative environmental impacts. Finalists for this award included Humpback Hydro and Axine Water Technologies

The winner of this year’s Award for Technology Innovation and Application was Electronics Recycling Service (ERS) International, an e-waste management and electronics recycler with locations around the world. With over 25 years in recycling management experience, ERS strives to provide innovative and advanced recycling technology. Their new and secure processing line is the first of its kind in North America, and can recycle virtually all electronics. Bombardier Aerospace and Kruger Products were also finalists for this award. 

With over 50 members and partner-companies dedicated to the responsible and ethical manufacture of chemicals and resins for a wide range of Canadian industries, the Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC) wins the Award for Sustainable Leadership. Chemistry is a vital component of our economy and is poised for growth as we continue to rely on it to manufacture some 70,000 that we use everyday.

Through their commitment to Responsible Care®, CIAC ensures that the growth of this industry will not come at the expense of people’s health or the environment. Finalists in this category included Green Marine and Provision Coalition. 

Being recognized as an outstanding emerging leader, Kali Taylor of Student Energy won the Next Generation Entrepreneur Award. Kali Taylor is a founder and Executive Director of Student Energy, where she oversees the strategy and operations of the organization; working towards the ultimate mission of building a movement of students all over the world committed to a sustainable future. Howard Swartz of Carbon Savings and Elene Jusenlijska of POWERBARR were also finalists for this award. 

The GLOBE Awards are judged by a panel of experts, well known in the Canadian business and environment community: Ms. Sandra Odendahl, Director, Corporate Sustainability / Head, Social Finance Initiative, Royal Bank of Canada; Mr. Nelson Switzer, Director & Leader, Sustainable Business Solutions, PricewaterhouseCoopers Canada; and Ms. Jane Pagel, Former President & CEO, Ontario Clean Water Agency. 

About the GLOBE Foundation

The GLOBE Foundation is an international consultancy organization in the business of the environment. GLOBE’s expertise lies in project management, event development, and management and consulting in the fields of environment and energy, urban development, and corporate responsibility.

About the Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply